Connect the bloomin’ battery

Amazing what happens when the power source is connected

Amazing what happens when the power source is connected

Beep beep beep. If you’ve got a UPS for your computer, you know the sound. My computer guy announced three weeks ago that my UPS was dead. When the new one arrived, he said, “I can’t come over, we’ll do it on the phone.”

Obediently I crawled around on the floor, following directions. I pulled the PC off its shelf, identified wires, unplugged the old, and plugged in the new. As we worked, I described how everything looked–and sounded. The new UPS emitted a soft “beep beep beep.” “It’s fine,” he said.

Well, two days later the computer flipped off while I was typing. A few days later, I walked in to a blue screen. A week later it happened again. “There’s something wrong!” I screamed at my poor computer guy. “Bad UPS,” he said.

I called the manufacturer. A very nice, very calm, very patient guy said, “I can help you.” I didn’t want help. I wanted a new UPS, but I crawled on the floor, followed directions, pulled out the PC, identified wires and plugs. “Hear that beep beep beep?” he said. That means the battery is not connected.

What?

Turns out there’s an enormous battery inside the UPS. You have to connect one red wire inside the UPS to that battery. One red wire. But without that connection, you’ve got no juice.

THAT, I thought, is the perfect description of prayer. No connection. No juice. And the whole time your soul is sighing: beep beep beep, help help help.

My UPS is now connected to its battery. And I had a nice reminder to get back to my foundational practice. A practice that even I, a teacher of such things, can easily misplace. Too busy, too upset, too scared, too…whatever.

But I’d received an incredibly simple lesson: No connection. No juice.

I love the way Spirit talks to me. Even through my UPS. I connected that red wire, thanked the technician, hung up, and sat right down in my writing chair.

“Hello,” I wrote, “I need some juice.”

One Comment on “Connect the bloomin’ battery”

  1. Remember TAWOFM, Janet. Things Always Work Out For You!


Leave a Reply

