Taking a soul-cation

No one is taking a vacation right now. Perhaps because they don’t have a job from which to take a break –or, even if they have a job, they don’t have enough money to leave town. Or they can’t walk away from the relentless list of all the things they should be doing.

Whatever the reason, people are either working through their “vacation,” or taking a “staycation”– the going term for the no-cost, no-go, stay-at-home one-week rest. One week at home — and we’re supposed to return refreshed and ready to plunge, once more, into the fray of business and profit.

Well, I can’t. On many, many levels, I simply can’t.

I can’t leave. I can’t spend nonexistent money for a nonexistent vacation. Yet in my own home, my own space, my own office, I can’t stop the relentless dance of research, email, twitter, and facebook. I can’t stop the necessary updates on book tour or my website or eventbrite or the newsletter. I can’t stop toying with my next book proposal or teleclass or product launch.

In a word, I can’t stop. But it’s only in stopping that I can refresh this frazzled soul.

And so I stop. Just stop. I say no. No to twitter, no to email, no to facebook, no to teaching. No to “let’s go here” or “let’s have lunch, ” or “can you talk.”

But I need so much more than just sitting home and pretending to be on vacation. From what? The job I don’t have? How silly.

So here I am in my home with the same view, the same morning paper, the same food in the frig, the same wine in the cupboard, the same books on the same shelves and the same relentless list of things to do.

But I refuse. I refuse to do the same things for the same reasons in the same schedule. OK, so I can’t travel. I can’t leave the house. So how do I take a break from the jaws of the necessary, the needful, the now?

It may not be the ideal answer. But this is the answer I’ve got. Stop. Stop and look the OTHER way.

The “other” for me is the functional, the ordinary, the necessary — like cleaning, laundry, gardening, pruning. And so, for the past 48 hrs, I’ve polished floors, pulled weeds, ironed napkins, and scrubbed the fountain.

Is this a vacation? I think so. Not in the go-to-europe sense or the pampered spa sense, but in the soul sense. At last, there are only two persons present in this house: me and my soul. I’m letting this honored guest sleep as long as she likes, read for hours on end, step outside even when it’s hot and miserable, and spend a day cooking for friends.

And she is grateful. What about you? Can you take a soul-cation? Will you?

3 Comments on “Taking a soul-cation”

  1. Jean says:

    I identify so much with this – its a wonderful relief when to realise I’m not alone struggling with this relentless need to do – and a feeling that a vacation isn’t warrented – just now.

    Thanks for presenting an alternative!

  2. Laura says:

    I’m doing the same exact thing this week. But I have the pleasure of enjoying your book which I found by chance the other day. I have been exhilarated by the last couple of days of soul writing. Thank you so much for the inspiration and wisdom. Blessings!! Laura

    • janetconner says:

      Laura: Makes me laugh when people say they found the book by accident. I’m sure your angels are chuckling. It is an endless source of astonishment how people find Writing Down Your Soul (or rather how the book finds people!)

      Do you get my Writing Down Your Soul newsletter? If not, go to http://www.writingdownyoursoul.com and subscribe. new edition coming this week filled with info on Soul-cation and lots of writing down your soul events.


Leave a Reply

