December Plan Day 4: Don’t try this alone

Why do we feel so alone? We know intellectually that this is an impossibility. Even the least scientifically inclined knows enough baby quantum physics to know that we are made up of energy. Thank you Albert for a formula so simple that even I, who barely scraped through algebra, can understand it. And if we’re all energy, then it isn’t much of an intellectual leap to realize we are all connected. (Not a whole lot of walls out there in the energy field.)

Got doubts about that? Read Ervin Laszlo’s Science and the Akashic Field. All those lovely-sounding spiritual principles, like, “We are one in Spirit,” are actually true.

So, why then, if we understand the way the universe is constructed, do we feel so alone? I do not have an answer for this. It seems to be the human dilemma. We are all one, but individually we wake feeling like one person chasing answers to an endless array of problems. One soul seeking peace. One heart seeking hope.

I know I’m not alone. I know it. But I can still feel alone. So every day I stand in front of my Writing Altar and state again, out loud, what I know to be the truth. I don’t say it for heaven. Heaven already knows. I say it for me. I say the words to remind myself that Spirit is with me. My angels are with me. My Guardian Angel (whose name I’d really like to know) is with me. I know it. I once heard her (or maybe him) speak. It was just one word, but it was crystal clear in an empty house. Who else could it have been? Michael is with me. I know this. And Gabriel? She’s got the words. She is the loving protectress of writers. I call on her every time I write.

I know my husband who passed is with me. He has delivered messages three times. And he leaves me pennies. Every time I see one in an odd spot, I laugh and say thank you. I have a bowlfull of pennies on my altar. I know my parents are with me. Dad has appeared as a cardinal — his favorite bird — for years. After Mom died in 2007 I wondered when she’s show up. It took her quite a while, but last winter the male cardinal in my dining room bush suddenly had an orange mate. That long walk I told you about yesterday? As I approached home I felt the need to see them. And a few moments later there they were, a pair of cardinals, in an oleander bush at eye level, no more than 18 inches away. I felt loved.

I’m not alone. And neither are you. But do you know who’s with you? In the card reading yesterday the cards said I’m surrounded by my spiritual community who is helping me find my human community. The problems, mind you, are still here. The fears are still here. But at least I know I have help. A whole village of help. I can call on Michael to protect me. Mary to love my son. Gabriel to help me find the words. My parents and husband to watch over us. I’m not alone. And that sometimes is enough to get through the day.

Do you want to connect with your guides? Your angels? Here are a few things you can do. First, do some deep soul writing and ask who’s with you. Then pay attention to what happens next. Do some angel card readings. Read Angels in My Hair by Lorna Byrne, the Irish mystic who sees angels. Have an angel guidance reading. My favorite angel guidance reader is Margo Mastromarchi, the Oracle of the Dove. Or ask for insights in your dreams.

I don’t think it matters what you do or how you go about becoming aware of your spiritual support team. What matters is that knowing you are not alone, you call on them. Ask for guidance. Ask for help creating the perfect December preparation for the perfect new year.

Who are your guides? How do they show up? How are you working with them to create your magical year?

Leave a Reply

