Jumpstart 2010 with a “Conditions” Mandala

Heaven communicates with us so many ways. Synchronicity. Animal messengers. Signs and symbols. Dreams. Nudging. Knowing. Intuition. And deep soul writing, of course.

But have you noticed that when you are ready to hear something really important, something that may well be the next step in your soul’s great human adventure, it falls into your hands through a human voice? It might be something someone says, but often it comes through the pages of a book.

That’s what happened to me. As you know, I wrote about how to create a magical new year throughout December. I thought about it every day and shared my experiences with you in this newsletter and in my blog. I thought I had the process pretty well figured out.

Until New Year’s morning.

I spent the morning in deep dialogue with my divine Voice putting 2009 to bed and calling in a magical 2010. It’s a process I’ve followed for a decade and I know it works. But this year, I did something different. Before I said my prayers, before I picked up a pen, before I did anything, I picked up a library book. As I sipped my coffee, I read Thich Nhat Hanh’s slender new book, you are here.

Midway through I had to stop and catch my breath. Because everything in my understanding suddenly shifted 180 degrees.

Let me explain.

A week ago, I decided that the perfect name for 2010 is “My Breakthrough Year.” It’s perfect because it captures where I am. I’m in the fifth year of my writing career: In 2006, I called in my publisher. In 2007, I wrote Writing Down Your Soul. In 2008, I learned what happens after you turn in your manuscript: editing, book layout, cover design… In 2009, I learned what happens when your book comes out: how to speak, teach, travel, communicate through social media, work with a publicist, interview and be interviewed… Whew.

And so, in year five, I’m ready for the big breakthroughs. You know: the income, agent, multi-book contract, well-paid speaking invitations. I’m ready for my ships to come in.

And reading Thich Nhat Hanh, I discovered how to do that. Which is a really good thing, because I had something wrong, and I’m willing to bet you do, too.

Until I read You Are Here, I visualized my year as me breaking through barriers to reach what I want. But listen to what the Buddha has to say about creating: “This is, because that is.”

Not clear? Don’t worry. That’s why God gave us Thich Nhat Hanh, the Nobel Peace Prize-winning Vietnamese Buddhist monk. To explain this profound teaching Thich Nhat Hanh writes: “This refers to the manifestation of phenomena on the basis of the law of interdependent origination. When conditions are sufficient, there is manifestation.” (p. 87) To illustrate, he points out that in winter you don’t see sunflowers, but that doesn’t mean sunflowers don’t exist. They are just waiting for the condition of sunshine to call them forth.

My eyes couldn’t leave the sentence, “When conditions are sufficient, there is manifestation.” I wrote it several times in my journal. I wrote it on my white board. I sat staring in space letting it seep into my cells.

“When conditions are sufficient, there is manifestation.”

I am still calling 2010 “My Breakthrough Year,” but I see now that my way to get that to happen is not to focus on me breaking through to what I want; it is to focus on creating the conditions that allow everything I want to break through to me.

Do you hear the difference? It’s huge. And it’s the miracle-maker that will create the year I want — and the year you want.

So how do you create those conditions? Well, my Voice and I had long, rich talks about how I can create the fertile field for my “sunflowers” to break through the soil and grow, grow, grow. Well, actually we talked about lilies. Ever since Michael said, “You are a lily,” in an angel reading with Margo Mastromarchi in 2007, I’ve had lilies on my altar. I love seeing myself as one of Spirit’s cared-for lilies.

Once I was clear on the conditions to allow all I want to manifest, I made a prayer mandala to imprint that image in my sub-conscious. I traced a dinner plate on a large sheet of paper. I drew a lily at the center of the circle. On each of her six petals I wrote something I do to create the perfect conditions for my year. Around the lily, I drew twelve small circles, each with a symbol of something I want to break through to me in 2010.

I finished with an angel reading, using Doreen Virtue’s Archangel Oracle deck and pasted copies of the four cards to the corners. Delighted with the results, I pinned my 2010 mandala to the wall next to my desk where it will bless me for the next 365 days.


7 Comments on “Jumpstart 2010 with a “Conditions” Mandala”

  1. TSwain says:

    Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂

  2. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

    Robert Shumake

  3. Fay Hart says:

    Janet, Just read this again as if for the first time. After the Hafiz last night…well, all I can say is thank you thank you! xox

  4. […] are some tips if you want to make an intention mandala of your own. You can get started by reading Janet Conner’s original blog post about her “conditions” mandala she created for 2….  Once you create your big circle (either on paper or on the computer), you can simply put your […]

  5. Thanks so much, Janet, for this post. I also called 2010 my Breakout Year, the 10 year anniversary of my wirting career (I heard it takes 10,000 hours of hard practice to become really good at something, which translates into approximately 10 years). But I wasn’t expecting as many “big” breakthroughs as you did–agent, multiple book contracts, etc. I love the quote from Thich Nhat Hanh, “When conditions are suffiecient, then is manifestation.” I worked hard in 2010 to create the conditions for a breakout year, completing my Creative Writing Certificate, entering the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest (making it to the quarter finalists- 250 out of 5,000 entries), submitting a poem to The Tule Review (a poem I wrote in 15 minutes in response to a prompt in a poetry class), sending a query package to an agent, attending a writer’s conference to meet said agent, winning a drawing for a 3-page critique of my novel’s first 3 pages by Mary Buckham, co-author of Break Into Fiction, and starting a blog. Wow! Now, I am so fortunate to be taking your PlugIn Course, where I will be creating a “fertile” field for my 2011 breakthrough, starting with a prayer mandala to imprint the conditions to allow all that I want. Again, thank you so much for helping to pave the way.


Leave a comment